Books Written by Hinton

The Outsiders 

Hintons first novel is about two different worlds, the soc( stands for "social") and the greasers. The soc has money, can get away with just about anything, and has an attitude longer than a limousine. A greaser, on the other hand, always lives on the outside and needs to watch his back. Ponyboy , the main character is a greaser in the novel and is proud of it until one night when his friend Johnny kills a soc. This causes Ponyboy to choke and cremble, it teaches him that pain feels the same whether a greaser or a soc.  

Rumble Fish

Benny's is the local hang out for a group of teenagers in high school. Rusty-James is the number one tough guy at this hang out, he wants to be just like his older brother, the motorcycle man. Rusty-James isn't all that smart though, he doesn's rely on his brain, he relies on his fists more then anything. Motorcycle Boy isnt around forever though and after an explosive chain of events Rusty-James is in trouble and has no help from his brother.

That Was Then, This is Now

Bryon and Mark have been as close as brothers for as long as they can remember. Now things are changing. Bryon's growing up, and thinking seriously about who he wants to be. Mark still just lives for the thrill of the moment. The two are growing apart - but holding on - until Bryon faces a terrible decision - one that will change both of their lives forever.


Tex, at fifteen has two things on his mind, his horse Negrito, and Johnny Collins's blue-eyed sister, Jamie. He thinks life with his seventeen-year-old brother, Mason, in their ramshackle house would be just about perfect if only Mace would stop complaining about Pop. Pop hasn't been home in five months. Mace wants to get out of Oklahoma. Tex just seems to attract trouble and danger . . . Suddenly everything's falling apart.

Other books by S.E Hinton:

Taming the Star Runner, Hawks Harbor, Tims Stories, Big David Little David, and The Puppy Sister.